Structure of the DNA

The National Committee for the Clean Development Mechanism is the Designated National Authority (DNA) for CDM in KSA. The National Committee is presided over by a representative of the Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources and the membership of a number of relevant Ministries and entities:

  • Ministry of Municipal and Rural Affairs
  • Ministry of Commerce and Industry
  • Ministry of Health
  • Ministry of Water and Electricity
  • Ministry of Agriculture
  • Meteorology and Environmental Protection Presidency
  • Royal Commission for Jubail and Yanbu’
  • Saline Water Conversation Corporation
  • King Abdullah City for Atomic and Renewable Energy (K.A.CARE)
  • The Electricity & Cogeneration Regulatory Authority (ECRA)
  • Saudi Aramco
  • Saudi Arabian Basic Industries Corporation (SABIC)
  • Saudi Electricity Company
  • King Abdulaziz City for Science and Technology.

The National Committee is supported by a Secretariat based at the Ministry of Petroleum and Mineral Resources and which reports to the Chairmen of the Committee.


Tasks of the DNA & services offered

 The National Committee carries out a number of tasks including

  • Facilitating the CDM and specifying the conditions, terms, priorities and requirements for CDM in the Kingdom
  • Drawing up necessary standards for evaluation and approval of CDM projects, including the issuance of  LoAs in case of positive decision
  • Following up the operations of the CDM Executive Board and maintain the necessary communications with it and with the concerned agencies
  • Providing information on the CDM in the Kingdom
  • Promoting the CDM potential of the Kingdom nationally and internationally